In the recent stream on PlayStation’s Twitch channel, Sony has announced details for the PlayStation 5 and its launch titles.

The stream started off with multiple trailers for the games that would launch around the same time as the PS5, including games such as Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales and Call of Duty Black Ops: Cold War, which seem to be among the list of launch titles for the platform.

Some games will be remastered or re-released to take advantage of the improved hardware. Devil May Cry 5: Special Edition, Fortnite on the Unreal 4 Engine, and Demon’s Souls. Devil May Cry 5: Special Edition and Fortnite are expected to be available at launch, but Demon’s Souls has no confirmed release date.

Other games will be released in the year 2021, and these are:

  • Final Fantasy XVI
  • Portkey Games: Hogwarts Legacy
  • Resident Evil VIII: Village
  • Deathloop.

Two games without confirmed release years were also teased during the stream. Oddworld: Soulstorm and Five Nights at Freddy’s: Security Breach had trailers with vague hints to their stories.

Sony also revealed a new service for PlayStation Plus, which is the PlayStation Plus Collection, which allows people to download PS4 games onto their PS5 systems as a digital form of backward compatibility.

Towards the end of the presentation, they revealed the prices for the PlayStation 5 and the Playstation 5 Digital Edition, which are $499.99 and $399.99 respectively, with the normal version having a slot for physical copies of games. This can be considered hostile to consumers, as you’re essentially paying $100 for a disk reader when you can probably make a disk reader that plugs into one of the USB ports on the front for a fraction of the price.

The PlayStation 5 is anticipated for release on November 12th, 2020 for the US, Japan, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, and South Korea. The rest of the world will be able to purchase it on November 19th, 2020.


Charles Raven
Charles Raven