Facebook
johnAndBjo

John and Bjo Trimble

Gene Roddenberry’s Star Trek made its debut on NBC in 1966, and has had a profound affect on our culture and technological development ever since – but the legacy of this bold look to the future of humanity almost didn’t happen. This weekend is the 50th Anniversary of the show, so we wanted to do something special.

This Saturday’s edition of The Event Horizon is a rebroadcast of our landmark 100th episode, featuring special guests John and Bjo Trimblethe couple who, back in 1967, launched the biggest grass roots write-in campaign the world of television had ever seen. Without these two enterprising individuals, we would not have the legacy of Star Trek to enjoy today. The  campaign saved the third season of Trek, and that ensured that the show would make it into syndication. Without that, the show would be all but unknown today.

Tune in Saturday at 9 pm Pacific/ 11 pm Central / 12 am Eastern to hear John and Bjo speak with your hosts Gene Turnbow and Susan Fox, in a special recording session done in their Pasadena, California home in the summer of 2015.

Star Trek has been since translated into 26 languages and at any given moment is being broadcast somewhere in the world.  No two fans have ever had a more profound effect on the world of science fiction, and the affect they have had on our modern world and the world yet to come is incalculable.

If you miss the show on Saturday evening, join us again on Sunday at 4 pm Pacific / 6 pm Central, or again on Tuesday or the following Saturday at 6 am Central / 7 am Eastern for a reprise of this landmark radio broadcast, the first time the Trimbles have ever appeared on sci-fi radio.

The Event Horizon – it’s Sci-Fi for your Wifi.

– 30 –

 

 

SCIFI.radio
SCIFI.radio

SCIFI.radio is listener supported sci-fi geek culture radio, and operates almost exclusively via the generous contributions of our fans via our Patreon campaign. If you like, you can also use our tip jar and send us a little something to help support the many fine creatives that make this station possible.

%d bloggers like this: