You Will Believe A Man Can Sound Like He’s Flying

superman-radioThe classic radio serial, The Adventures of Superman, is coming to SCIFI.radio 6PM Pacific/9PM Eastern, Monday April 1, 2013!  Starring the immortal Bud Collier as Superman, this groundbreaking radio drama originally aired from 1940 to 1951, beginning on New York’s WOR as a syndicated program.

Listen each day for a new episode! We have enough of them that you can listen every day for more than three years and never hear the same episode twice – and we’re running them in the same order in which they were originally broadcast.

We’re also going to be running it at 10 AM Pacific / 1PM Eastern, and even at 2AM Pacific / 5AM Eastern, so that no matter where you are in the world, chances are there’s an episode of Superman playing some time during your listening day.

“The Adventures Os Superman” radio show introduced many of the essential elements of the Superman mythos.  For example, the newspaper where Clark Kent was employed changed from “The Daily Flash” to the familiar “Daily Planet”, and the paper’s editor from “George Taylor” to “Perry White” (Great Ceasar’s Ghost!).  The show is also responsible for introducing Superman’s famous weakness, Kryptonite.  The character of Jimmy Olsen was developed largely in this series, setting a platform of interaction between Clark, Lois, and Jimmy, which was to become a staple in both the comics and all future Superman media adaptions.

Superman was also used as a vehicle to get gets to brush their teeth, eat their vegetables and stay in school – these advertisements were the first radio public service announcements!

Clayton “Bud” Collyer provided the voice for Superman and Clark Kent.  Collyer was the first actor to portray Superman, and was certainly one of the best.  Noted for his distinct ability to display a clear difference between Clark Kent and Superman, Collyer went on to voice Superman in the Fleischer animated serials in the 1940?s, and in the Filmation Superman cartoons of the 1960?s.

If you’re new to this radio series, you’ll be amazed at how much fun it is to listen and how engaging it is – and if you’re familiar with it, you’re certain to hear episodes you’ve never heard before.  It’s the perfect show for every serious fan of the Man of Steel.

There aren’t many science fiction radio stations in the world (nearly all are podcasts, not radio stations, or specialize on one television show or movie series), and we’re doing our best to be the best.  We think that as fans of SCIFI.radio, you deserve our best effort.

Keep listening to SCIFI.radio.  And watch the skies.

– 30 –

SCIFI.radio
SCIFI.radio

SCIFI.radio is listener supported sci-fi geek culture radio, and operates almost exclusively via the generous contributions of our fans via our Patreon campaign. If you like, you can also use our tip jar and send us a little something to help support the many fine creatives that make this station possible.