Facebook

Cliff Simon passed away March 9, 2021 in a kitboarding accident. One of our DJ’s, it turns out – MrVestek of MrVestek’s outpost – had the opportunity to interview Simon in September of 2019 at Cal Mah 2.0, the Unnoffial Stargate Fan Event that took place at the Telford Center Hotel, Shropshire, England.

MrVestek did the four minute interview piece, but had not released it until now. The passing of Cliff Simon seemed to him to be the right moment to show it to the world.

Cliff Simon, the South African-born actor who played the Goa’uld character Ba’al on Stargate:SG-1, was born September 7, 1962 in Johannesburg, South Africa. He died on the beach March 9, 2021 in Topanga, California. His wife, Colette Simon, said, “A small saving grace to this tragedy is that he was doing one of the things he loved most and passed away on the beach near the water, which was his temple.” In addition to acting, he was a competitive swimmer and an avis skiier and surfer.

From MrVestek’s notes, “I’m releasing this now as a tribute to an amazing actor and all around general lovely guy who was sadly taken from us (far too early) on March 9th.”

MrVestek, aka Steve Kay, is a resident of Ireland and has been active in the European scifi convention scene for many years. His live music show, MrVestek’s Outpost, airs on SCIFI.radio every Wednesday at 8 pm GMT, 3 pm Eastern, noon Pacific.

-30-

SCIFI.radio
SCIFI.radio

SCIFI.radio is listener supported sci-fi geek culture radio, and operates almost exclusively via the generous contributions of our fans via our Patreon campaign. If you like, you can also use our tip jar and send us a little something to help support the many fine creatives that make this station possible.

%d bloggers like this: