Facebook

NASA and SpaceX try again as the Crew Dragon sits atop its Falcon 9 launch platform waiting to make history, after Wednesday’s scrubbed launch attempt.

SpaceX’s Crew Dragon is set to become the first private spacecraft to carry humans into orbit. The launch, scheduled for 3:22PM ET, will also mark the first time in nearly a decade that NASA astronauts have launched into orbit from Cape Canaveral, Florida.

For NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley, this will be their second attempt at this historic launch. The first launch attempt, on Wednesday, May 27th, was scrubbed due to poor weather conditions less than 17 minutes before launch. They’ll get another chance today. If today’s launch is delayed for any reason, the next launch attempt will be on Sunday, May 31st, at 3PM ET.

NASA plans to cover today’s event live, starting at around 11AM ET. If all goes well, they’ll cover everything from launch preparations to the Crew Dragon’s docking at the ISS at 10:20AM ET on Sunday, May 31st.

Scheduled launch time: New York: 3:22PM / San Francisco: 12:22PM / London: 8:22PM / Berlin: 9:22PM / Moscow: 10:22PM / New Delhi: 12:52AM (May 31st) / Beijing: 3:22AM (May 31st) / Tokyo: 4:22AM (May 31st) / Melbourne: 5:22AM (May 31st)

Live stream: NASA is live-streaming the event on YouTube and on its website for desktop viewing. SpaceX will also be live-streaming the event on its YouTube channel.

You’ll probably want to turn off the SCIFI.radio stream while you watch this. The control is at the upper right if you’re on your desktop, and near the bottom if you’re on mobile.

-30-

David Raiklen
David Raiklen

David Raiklen wrote, directed and scored his first film at age 9. He began studying keyboard and composing at age 5. He attended, then taught at UCLA, USC and CalArts. Among his teachers are John Williams and Mel Powel.
He has worked for Fox, Disney and Sprint. David has received numerous awards for his work, including the 2004 American Music Center Award. Dr. Raiklen has composed music and sound design for theater (Death and the Maiden), dance (Russian Ballet), television (Sing Me a Story), cell phone (Spacey Movie), museums (Museum of Tolerance), concert (Violin Sonata ), and film (Appalachian Trail).
His compositions have been performed at the Hollywood Bowl and the first Disney Hall. David Raiken is also host of a successful radio program, Classical Fan Club.

%d bloggers like this: