LawrenceMSchoen

Lawrence M. Schoen, author of ‘Barsk: The Elephant’s Graveyard’ from TOR Books, and founder of the Klingon Language Institute.

Tune in this evening at 9 pm Pacific for the newest episode of The Event Horizon, SCIFI.radio’s flagship science fiction and fantasy panel discussion show. This evening’s guest is Lawrence M. Schoen, author of the science fiction novel Barsk: The Elephant’s Graveyard. Your hosts are Station Manager Gene Turnbow, and Executive Producer Susan L. Fox.

Here are the liner notes from this new release by TOR Books:

An historian who speaks with the dead is ensnared by the past. A child who feels no pain and who should not exist sees the future. Between them are truths that will shake worlds.

In a distant future, no remnants of human beings remain, but their successors thrive throughout the galaxy. These are the offspring of humanity’s genius-animals uplifted into walking, talking, sentient beings. The Fant are one such species: anthropomorphic elephants ostracized by other races, and long ago exiled to the rainy ghetto world of Barsk. There, they develop medicines upon which all species now depend. The most coveted of these drugs is koph, which allows a small number of users to interact with the recently deceased and learn their secrets.

To break the Fant’s control of koph, an offworld shadow group attempts to force the Fant to surrender their knowledge. Jorl, a Fant Speaker with the dead, is compelled to question his deceased best friend, who years ago mysteriously committed suicide. In so doing, Jorl unearths a secret the powers that be would prefer to keep buried forever. Meanwhile, his dead friend’s son, a physically challenged young Fant named Pizlo, is driven by disturbing visions to take his first unsteady steps toward an uncertain future.

The show reprises Sunday, January 10, 2016 at 4 pm Pacific, so this is the list of air times for the program:

Sat Jan 9, 9 pm PST / 12 am EST
Sun Jan 10, 4 pm PST / 7 pm EST
Tue Jan 12, 4 am PST / 7 am EST
Thu Jan 14, 4 am PST / 7 am EST
Sat Jan 16, 4 am PST / 7 am EST

The Event Horizon – it’s Sci-Fi for your Wi-Fi! ™

-30-

SCIFI.radio
SCIFI.radio

SCIFI.radio is listener supported sci-fi geek culture radio, and operates almost exclusively via the generous contributions of our fans via our Patreon campaign. If you like, you can also use our tip jar and send us a little something to help support the many fine creatives that make this station possible.