Facebook

by Zuke Arakaki of StolenDroids

Few people know this, but I didn’t actually start reading comics books until I was 18. I grew up on comic strips; books and books of Calvin and Hobbes, The Far Side, Peanuts, Mother Goose and Grimm, Garfield, Happy Acres, and anything else I could get my hands on.

Comic strips have been disappearing from papers for years, being replaced by more and more webcomics (which I also read like crazy). But how has this been for the comic artists? As it happens, some other people had the same question and went on a quest to find out.  For over four years, cinematographer Fred Schroeder and web cartoonist Dave Kellett have traveled the globe, interviewing some of the world’s best cartoonists and documenting how everything has changed over the years and where the format is heading.

The guys at Stolendroids had the chance to sit down with Fred and talk about his thoughts on comic strips and what he learned while making this film.  From the over-the-top headquarters for Garfield, to the incredible talk with Bill Waterson in his only recorded interview, Fred and Dave got to see the world of comics as few ever will.  As it turns out, not all the artists agree on what the future of the format should be or where it is headed.

You can hear the interview tomorrow (Thursday) at 3PM Pacific / 6PM Eastern on a special edition of StolenDroids Presents right here on SCIFI.radio.

In addition to being an award-nominated podcast, StolenDroids is a regular program on SCIFI.radio, airing each Tuesday and Saturday at 4PM Pacific / 7 PM Eastern time.

Links

  • The StolenDroids interview with Fred Schroeder on the StolenDroids web site
  • Stolendroids.com
  • Stripped launches on April 1 on iTunes and April 2 in all other formats at StrippedFilm.com

 

zuke
zuke

%d bloggers like this: