The 2023 Oscar winners were announced on March 12 and genre films won many of the 23 awards presented during the primetime broadcast. Most visible in this lineup are the cast and crew of Everything Everywhere All at Once, which earned no fewer than seven Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Film Editing.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever won Best Costume Design.

Avatar: The Way of Water won Best Visual Effects.

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio was named the Best Animated Film.

The complete list of winners follows.

Best Picture

  • Everything Everywhere All at Once, Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang, Producers

Best Director 

  • Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Actor

  • Brendan Fraser (The Whale

Best Lead Actress

  • Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actress

  • Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Women Talking, Screenplay by Sarah Polley

Best Original Screenplay

  • Everything Everywhere All at Once, Written by Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert

Best Cinematography 

  • All Quiet on the Western Front, James Friend

Best Documentary Feature Film 

  • Navalny, Daniel Roher, Odessa Rae, Diane Becker, Melanie Miller and Shane Boris

Best Documentary Short Film 

  • The Elephant Whisperers, Kartiki Gonsalves and Guneet Monga

Best Film Editing

  • Everything Everywhere All at Once, Paul Rogers

Best International Feature Film 

  • All Quiet on the Western Front (Germany) 

Best Original Song 

  • “Naatu Naatu” from RRR, Music by M.M. Keeravaani; Lyric by Chandrabose  

Best Production Design 

  • All Quiet on the Western Front, Production Design: Christian M. Goldbeck; Set Decoration: Ernestine Hipper

Best Visual Effects

  • Avatar: The Way of Water, Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon and Daniel Barrett

Best Animated Feature Film 

  • Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio, Guillermo del Toro, Mark Gustafson, Gary Ungar and Alex Bulkley

Best Animated Short Film

  • The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse, Charlie Mackesy and Matthew Freud

Best Costume Design 

  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Ruth Carter

Best Live Action Short

  • An Irish Goodbye, Tom Berkeley and Ross White

Best Makeup and Hairstyling 

  • The Whale, Adrien Morot, Judy Chin and Anne Marie Bradley

Best Original Score 

  • All Quiet on the Western Front, Volker Bertelmann

Best Sound

  • Top Gun: Maverick, Mark Weingarten, James H. Mather, Al Nelson, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor


SCIFI Radio Staff
SCIFI Radio Staff is listener supported sci-fi geek culture radio, and operates almost exclusively via the generous contributions of our fans via our Patreon campaign. If you like, you can also use our tip jar and send us a little something to help support the many fine creatives that make this station possible.