Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian in 1980’s The Empire Strikes Back

Star Wars: Episode IX, the final chapter in the new trilogy chronicling the stories of Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, and Kylo Ren alongside our old favorites, will commence shooting on August 1, and Lucasfilm has confirmed the cast, with some new faces and old friends alike joining the mix. Daisy Ridley as Rey, Adam Driver as Kylo Ren, John Boyega as Finn, Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron, Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata, Domhnall Gleeson as General Armitage Hux, Kelly Marie Tran as Rose Tico, Joonas Suotamo as Chewbacca, and Billie Lourd as Kaydel Ko Connix will reprise their roles from the previous films. They are joined by newcomers Naomi Ackie (Lady Macbeth) and Richard E. Grant (Logan, Game of Thrones).

Returning for the final chapter are classic Star Wars stars Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), and, for the first time onscreen since 1983’s Return of the Jedi, Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian.

Most intriguingly, Leia Organa will appear in Episode IX thanks to unseen and unreleased footage from 2015’s Star Wars: The Force Awakens. “We desperately loved Carrie Fisher. Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character,” director J.J. Abrams told “With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie, we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII.”

Carrie Fisher as General Leia Organa in 2015’s The Force Awakens
Star Wars newcomers Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant

Rounding out this all-star lineup is, of course, John Williams, returning to score the ninth chapter of the saga.

Set for release on December 20, 2019, Star Wars: Episode IX will be produced by Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Michelle Rejwan, and executive produced by Callum Greene and Jason McGatlin. The crew includes Dan Mindel (Director of Photography), Rick Carter and Kevin Jenkins (Co-Production Designers), Michael Kaplan (Costume Designer), Neal Scanlan (Creature and Droid FX), Maryann Brandon and Stefan Grube (Editors), Roger Guyett (VFX Supervisor), Tommy Gormley (1st AD), and Victoria Mahoney (2nd Unit Director).


Ryan Miorelli
Ryan Miorelli